Young Viticulturist of the Year 2019 – Are you this year’s prestigious winner?

The Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year Competition is now in its fourteenth year. It is a fantastic opportunity for Young Vits (30 yrs or under) to upskill, grow in confidence, widen their network and start making a name for themselves within the industry.

The competition continues to grow and there are now six regional competitions, culminating in a national final which is held in conjunction with Bragato.

The contestants undergo a mix of practical and theoretical questions which include pruning, netting, machinery, pests and diseases, budgeting, nutrition, wine knowledge, trellising and an interview. They go head to head in the BioStart Hortisports race, a quick fire buzzer round and also give a speech at the awards dinner.

It is a tough but rewarding experience and the winner certainly earns the prestigious title of Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year. They also take away an amazing prize package.

There will be six regional finals in 2019, culminating in a National Final held in conjunction with Bragato.

The South Island Regional competition is open to contestants from Nelson, Canterbury and Waitaki. It will be held in Waipara this year.

If you would like to enter the competition this year please download the entry form and hand this into your regional organizer and a scanned copy through to the National Co-Coordinator Nicky Grandorge at Theses steps need to be completed before an entry can be accepted into a regional competition.

The Auckland/Northern competition will be held in Northland this year for the first time.

Education Day Dates

Region Date Venue
Auckland/Northern 3rd May 2019 Villa Maria, Auckland
Hawke’s Bay & Wairarapa 9th May 2019 Te Awa, Hawkes’s Bay
Marlborough 16th May 2019 MRC
South Island Regional 17th May 2019 TBC
Central Otago 30th May 2019 TBC

Competition Dates

Region Date Venue
Auckland/Northern 7th June 2019 Marsden Estate, Kerikeri
Hawke’s Bay 13th June 2019 Te Awa Estate, Hawkes’s Bay
Wairarapa 20th June 2019 TBC
Marlborough 4th July 2019 TBC
South Island Region 12th July 2019 TBC
Central Otago 18th July 2019 Otago Polytechnic Bannockburn
National Final w/c 26th August 2019 Hawke's Bay

Note: Winner to be announced 29th August at Romeo Bragato 2019

For more information please contact National Co-Coordinator, Nicky Grandorge at